Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congresswoman Elizabeth Esty

Representing the 5th District of Connecticut


Connecticut students appointed to military academies

June 15, 2017
In The News

Sixty-one students in Connecticut have accepted appointments to one of the nation’s four service academies, according to the state’s all-Democratic congressional delegation.

Sen. Richard Blumenthal, Sen. Chris Murphy, and representatives Elizabeth Esty, Jim Himes, Rosa DeLauro, Joe Courtney and John Larson chose the nominees from lists that their selection committees put together. The list of the students was released on Monday.

The committees that complied the lists are made up of veterans, academy graduates, retired military personnel, educators and community leaders.

“Nominating incredibly bright and hard-working young women and men eager to learn, lead and serve our country is an extraordinary privilege,” the delegation said in a prepared statement. “We wish these students and their families the best of luck and are grateful for their grit, intelligence and desire to serve.”

Those selected to attend are commissioned as officers in active or reserve components for at least five years.

U.S. Naval Academy:
Cameron Michael Berger, New Milford
Logan Grace Book, Darien
Martin Joseph Duffy, Fairfield
Nicholas Harrison Franchuk, Southport
Stephen Macgregor Gemmell, Hamden
Joseph Anthony Giannini, Branford
Abhishek Gorti, Hamden
Dean Matthew Hochman, Fairfield
Thomas Carpenter Savarese, Shelton

U.S. Military Academy, West Point
Raymond Paul Bartoli, Wolcott
Stephen John Cavoli Jr., Darien
Aristotle James Colarossi, Stamford
Spencer Jean-Philip Daniels, Westport
Robert Ethan Elkins, Danbury
Michael Joseph Halas II, Danbury
Karl Andrew Johnson, Westport
Hunter Ldous Knibbe, Ridgefield
Kaitlyn Marie Kutz, Darien
HyunJin Lim, Branford
Raymond Ronald Miklos III, Madison
Aaron Stephen Mullally, New Fairfield
Ryan Alan Murphy, Stamford
Cara Linh Shattan, New Canaan
Elijah Bretnal Stephenson, Bridgeport
Sean Paul Stolarski, Weston
Joseph Seamus Waldron, Danbury

U.S. Air Force Academy
Thomas Malcolm Heisler, Westport
Alexander James Presley, Greenwich
Luke Austin St. Pierre, Ridgefield

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy
Jake Nolan Beinstein, Old Greenwich