Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congresswoman Elizabeth Esty

Representing the 5th District of Connecticut


Fairfield County Students Saluted As They Head To Service Academies

June 17, 2017
In The News

The Connecticut delegation to Washington announced the slate of students from Connecticut who have been appointed to the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, N.Y; the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, Md.; the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs; and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, N.Y.

The announcement was made by Sens. Richard Blumenthal and Chris Murphy and Reps. John Larson, Joe Courtney, Rosa DeLauro, Jim Himes and Elizabeth Esty.

“It’s an honor to announce the Connecticut students who will attend our nation’s prestigious service academies. Nominating incredibly bright and hard-working young women and men eager to learn, lead, and serve our country is an extraordinary privilege,” said the delegation. “We wish these students and their families the best of luck and are grateful for their grit, intelligence, and desire to serve.”

Those nominees who have accepted appointment are listed below.

U.S. Naval Academy:

 Cameron Michael Berger, New Milford
 Logan Grace Book, Darien
 Thomas Patrick Costello, West Hartford
 Martin Joseph Duffy, Fairfield
 Jack Albert Eichen, Washington
 Nicholas Harrison Franchuk, Southport
 Stephen Macgregor Gemmell, Hamden
 Joseph Anthony Giannini, Branford
 Abhishek Gorti, Hamden
 Jonathan Gabriel Hernandez, Avon
 Dean Matthew Hochman, Fairfield
 Ryan Hadlow Koehler, Groton
 Savada Minnie Robinson, Oxford
 Philip Hunter Ross, Woodbridge
 Thomas Christopher Savarese, Shelton
 Andrew Joseph Swain, West Hartford
 Amar S. Viswanathan, Waterford

U.S. Military Academy at West Point:

 Jessica Jeanne Barry, Tolland
 Raymond Paul Bartoli, Wolcott
 Thomas James Bordeauz, Jr., Woodbridge
 Taylor Aston Bradley, Wethersfield
 Stephen John Cavoli, Jr., Darien
 Aristotle James Colarossi, Stamford
 Spencer Jean-Philip Daniels, Westport
 Robert Ethan Elkins, Danbury
 Alexander Henry Fortier, Deep River
 Michael Joseph Halas II, Danbury
 Zachary Dean Hazzard, Ellington
 Karl Andrew Johnson, Westport
 Geoffrey Bjorn Kirk, Avon
 Hunter Ldous Knibbe, Ridgefield
 Kaitlyn Marie Kutz, Darien
 HyunJin Lim, Branford
 Benjamin Scott McDougall, East Granby
 Raymond Ronald Miklos III, Madison
 Aaron Stephen Mullally, New Fairfield
 Ryan Alan Murphy, Stamford
 George Alexander Pavlakis, Avon
 Riley Talmage Roarick, Old Saybrook
 Max Aaron Scheps, Orange
 Cara Linh Shattan, New Canaan
 Elijah Bretnal Stephenson, Bridgeport
 Sean Paul Stolarski, Weston
 John David Swanson, Washington Depot
 Joseph Seamus Waldron, Danbury
 Ryan Corbitt Witter, Unionville

U.S. Air Force Academy:

 Alexander William Cooper, Waterford
 Olivia Rose Cretella, Plainville
 Thomas Malcolm Heisler, Westport
 Colin John Kennelly, Prospect
 Caleb Thomas Melinosky, North Stonington
 Olivia Chantal Pease, Ashford
 Alexander James Presley, Greenwich
 Luke Austin St. Pierre, Ridgefield
 Franklin Noel Valentin, Jr., East Hartford
 Ryan Martin Van Riper, Glastonbury

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy:

 Jake Nolan Beinstein, Old Greenwich
 Audrey Grace Dean, Bolton
 Kieran Edmond Duggan, Woodbury
 Virginia Grace Poe, Groton

Each year, Members of Congress are able to nominate candidates for appointment to four of the nation’s U.S. service academies. Graduates are commissioned as officers in the active or reserve components of the military or Merchant Marine and serve for a minimum of five years.

The nominees were chosen by each Member’s Selection Committees, a nonpartisan board made up of service academy graduates, veterans, educators, community leaders, and retired military personnel.