Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congresswoman Elizabeth Esty

Representing the 5th District of Connecticut


STEM Advisory Board

Office of Congresswoman Elizabeth Esty

Mission Statement:  The mission of the STEM Advisory Board is to ensure the continuum of education, advocacy and outreach to strengthen Connecticut's current and future Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) workforce for the benefit of all its residents.

Congresswoman Esty's STEM Advisory Board is comprised of a cross-section of local leaders in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM) fields.  Board members advise Rep. Esty on issues facing the STEM community in Connecticut and make recommendations about federal legislation. The Advisory Board provides members the opportunity to collaborate on local efforts and to forge partnerships for current and future initiatives.  

According to Connecticut's 2016 STEM Report Card, the total number of STEM jobs in 2016 included 198,334 jobs. By the year 2025, the total numbers of STEM jobs in Connecticut are predicted to rise to 211,276 jobs. This work, which will be completed on the board, is critical to promoting Connecticut as a national leader in STEM.

This year's advisory board consists of the following individuals from the manufacturing, business, education, organized labor, and non-profit fields across Connecticut:


STEM Advisory Board 2017 Executive Committee Members

Bonnie Del ConteBonnie Del Conte

Susan PalisanoSusan Palisano
Connecticut Center for Advanced Technology
Director of Education & Workforce

Andrea ComerAndrea Comer
Co-Vice Chair
Connecticut Business & Industry Association
Executive Director

Kathryn RizzoKathryn Rizzo
Co-Vice Chair
Protein Sciences Corporation
Manager RA and BD

Tracy ArielTracy Ariel

CT State Colleges and Universities
Director, Advanced Manufacturing Centers

Cynthia ZoldyCynthia Zoldy
Smaller Manufacturers Association
Executive Director

Furahi AchebeFurahi Achebe
New Haven Schools
Technology Teacher


Dr. Hisham Alnajjar

Dr. Hisham Alnajjar
NASA Connecticut Space Grant Consortium 
Program Director

Douglas CaseyDouglas Casey
Connecticut Commission for Educational Technology 
Executive Director

Daisy Cocco De FilippisCasey Cocco De Filippis
Naugatuck Valley Community College

Felix CoweyFelix Cowey
Deputy Director

Michael CluteMichael Clute
Ward Leonard

Sandra EddySandra Eddy
Naugatuck Valley Community College

Kate FarrarKate Farrar
Connecticut Women’s Education and Legal Fund
Executive Director

Patrice GansPatrice Gans
Random Hacks of Kindness Junior, Inc.
Founder/Executive Director

Jonathan HernandezJonathan Hernandez
U.S. Naval Academy Summer Seminar Candidate
High School Student

Jan HochadelJan Hochadel
American Federation of Teachers
Professional Development Coordinator

Laura JaworskiLaura Jaworski
Connecticut Department of Economic and Community Development 
STEP Project Director

Kelley T. JohnsonKelley T. Johnson
Doors to Explore Inc.

Catherine LasserCatherine Lasser
Retired CTO

Gary MalaGary Mala
Avon Public Schools

Matt MervisMatt Mervis
Skills21 at EdAdvance

Heather Lynn MorgadoHeather Lynn Morgado
Boehringer Ingelheim USA Inc.
Associate Director, Human Resources

Haley NemethHaley Nemeth
Jonal Laboratories
Executive Administration

Ellen Ravens-SegerEllen Ravens-Seger
UCONN Health 
Administrative Program Assistant

Lawrence RizzoloLawrence Rizzolo, PhD
Yale University 
Professor of Surgery/Ophthalmology

Ellyn SavardEllyn Savard
Girl Scouts of Connecticut
Manager of STEM Program

Melanie SincheMelanie Sinche
Jackson Laboratory
Director of Education

Lila SnyderLila Snyder
Pitney Bowes
President, Global Ecommerce

Chris StoneChris Stone
Wallingford Public Schools/CT STEM Academy
Science Teacher/Director

Darlene StromstadDarlene Stromstad
Waterbury Hospital
CEO & President

Jason TealJason Teal
CT NAACP Economic Development

Nivea TorresNivea Torres
CT Technical High Schools
Superintendent of Schools

Dantaya WilliamsDantaya Williams
UTC, Pratt & Whitney
Incusion & Diversity, HR